English | German | French | Portugese | Italian |
Sunday, November 19, 2017
 

Essai de logiciel

 
  • Introduction
  • Procédé de essai de début
  • Procédé de essai d'arrêt
  • Stratégie de essai
  • Plan d'essai
  • Analyse de risque
  • Cycle de vie de essai de logiciel
  •  

    Types de essai de logiciel

     
  • Essai statique
  • Essai dynamique
  • Essai de Blackbox
  • Essai de Whitebox.
  • Essai d'unité.
  • Essai de conditions.
  • Essai de régression.
  • Gestion d'erreur examinant.
  • Essai de soutien manuel.
  • Essai intersystème.
  • Commander l'essai.
  • Mettre en parallèle l'essai.
  • Essai de volume.
  • Essai d'effort.
  • Essai de performance.

  •  

    Outils de essai

     
  • Coureur de victoire
  • Coureur de charge
  • Examiner le directeur
  • Essai en soie
  • Examiner l'associé

  •  

    Interviewer la question

     
  • Gagner le coureur
  • Charger le coureur
  • Essai en soie
  • Examiner le directeur
  • Question de essai générale

  •    
     
     

    Essai de logiciel


    A D V E R T I S E M E N T


    1.What le « logiciel est-il de la garantie de la qualité » ?

    La QA de logiciel comporte le procédé entier de développement de logiciel - surveillant et améliorant le processus, s'assurant que toutes les normes et procédures convenues sont suivies, et s'assurant que des problèmes sont trouvés et traités. Elle est orientée au « empêchement ». (Voir la section de livres pour une liste de livres utiles sur la garantie de la qualité de logiciel.)


    2.What est « logiciel examinant » ?

    L'essai implique l'opération d'un système ou d'une application dans des conditions commandées et évaluer les résultats (par exemple, « si l'utilisateur est dans l'interface A de l'application tout en à l'aide du matériel B, et fait C, alors D devrait se produire »). Les conditions commandées devraient inclure des conditions normales et anormales. L'essai devrait intentionnellement essayer de faire des choses tourner mal pour déterminer si les choses se produisent quand elles ne devraient pas ou les choses ne se produisent pas quand elles devraient. Il est orienté à la « détection ».


    Les organismes changent considérablement dans la façon dont ils assignent la responsabilité de la QA et de l'essai. Parfois ils sont la responsabilité combinée d'un groupe ou individu. En outre le terrain communal sont des équipes de projet qui incluent un mélange des essayeurs et des lotisseurs qui travaillent étroitement ensemble, avec des processus globaux de QA surveillés par des chefs de projet. Il dépendra la taille d'une quelle le meilleur des ajustements organisation et la structure d'affaires.


    3. Que quelques échecs principaux récents de système informatique sont-ils provoqués par des erreurs de programmation ?


    * Les médias rapporte en janvier de 2005 ont détaillé des problèmes graves avec un gouvernement de profil haut de $170 millions États-Unis IL projet de systèmes. L'essai de logiciel était l'un des cinq domaines problématiques principaux selon un rapport de la commission passant en revue le projet. Les études étaient en cours de déterminer ce qui, le cas échéant, partage du projet pourrait être récupérée.


    * En juillet 2004 les journaux ont signalé qu'un nouveau système de gestion d'assistance sociale de gouvernement au Canada coûtant plusieurs centaines de million de dollars ne pouvait pas manipuler une augmentation simple de taux des indemnités après avoir été rendu opérationnel de phase. Censément le contrat original a tenu compte de seulement 6 semaines de contrôle de réception et le système n'a été jamais examiné pour sa capacité de manipuler une augmentation de taux.



    * Des millions de comptes bancaires ont été effectués par des erreurs dues à l'installation insuffisamment d'examiné intègrent dans le logiciel dans le système de traitement transactionnel d'une banque nord-américaine importante, selon des rapports de nouvelles de mi-2004. Les articles concernant l'incident ont déclaré que cela a pris deux semaines pour fixer toutes erreurs résultantes, que les problèmes additionnels ont résulté quand l'incident a dessiné un grand nombre d'attaques phishing d'E-mail contre les clients de la banque, et que tout le coût de l'incident pourrait excéder $100 millions.


    * Un bogue dans le logiciel de gestion d'emplacement utilisé par des compagnies avec un pourcentage significatif du trafic de World Wide Web a été rapporté en mai de 2004. Le bogue a eu comme conséquence des problèmes d'exécution pour plusieurs des emplacements simultanément et a exigé la neutralisation du logiciel jusqu'à ce que le bogue ait été fixe.


    * Selon des rapports de nouvelles en avril de 2004, une erreur de programmation a été déterminée pour être un contribuant important 2003 à l'arrêt total du nord-est, le plus mauvais échec de système d'alimentation dans l'histoire nord-américaine. La perte impliquée par échec de courant électrique à 50 millions de clients, à arrêt obligatoire de 100 centrales électriques, et à pertes économiques estimées à $6 milliards. Le bogue était censément dans un système fournisseur-fourni de surveillance et de gestion de la puissance de l'entreprise de service public, qui ne pouvait pas correctement manipuler et rendre compte d'un confluent peu commun des événements au commencement localisés. L'erreur a été trouvée et corrigée après avoir examiné des millions de lignes de code.


    * Début 2004, les rapports de nouvelles ont indiqué l'utilisation intentionnelle d'une erreur de programmation comme outil de contre-espionnage. Selon le rapport, au début des années 80 une nation a surreptitiously permis au service de l'espionnage d'une nation hostile de voler une version de logiciel industriel sophistiqué qui intentionnel-avait ajouté des pailles. Ceci a par la suite eu comme conséquence la rupture industrielle principale dans le pays qui a employé le logiciel défectueux volé.


    * Un détaillant important des États-Unis a été censément frappé avec une grande amende de gouvernement en octobre de 2003 dus aux erreurs de site Web qui ont permis à des clients de regarder les ordres en ligne d'un anothers.


    * Les histoires de nouvelles en automne de 2003 ont déclaré qu'une compagnie de fabrication a rappelé tous leurs produits de transport afin de fixer un problème logiciel causant l'instabilité dans certaines circonstances. La compagnie a trouvé et a rapporté le bogue lui-même et lance le procédé de rappel dont une mise à niveau de logiciel a fixé les problèmes.


    * En janvier de 2001 journaux a rapporté qu'un chemin de fer européen important a été frappé par les répercussions du bogue de Y2K. La compagnie a constaté que plusieurs de leurs plus nouveaux trains ne courraient pas en raison de leur incapacité d'identifier la date « 31/12/2000 » ; les trains ont été démarrés en changeant les arrangements de la date de système de commande.


    * Les rapports de nouvelles en septembre de 2000 ont raconté un fournisseur de logiciel arrangeant un procès avec une grande société de prêt immobilier ; le fournisseur avait censément fourni un système de traitement en ligne d'hypothèque qui n'a pas répondu à des caractéristiques, a été livré tard, et n'a pas travaillé.


    * Début 2000, des problèmes principaux ont été signalés avec un nouveau système informatique dans une grande zone suburbaine d'école d'Etat des États-Unis avec les étudiants 100.000+ ; les problèmes ont inclus 10.000 cartes et étudiants incorrects de rapport à gauche échoués par les systèmes échoués d'enregistrement de classe ; le CIO de la zone a été mis le feu. La zone d'école a décidé de le rétablir est original 25 ans - vieux système pendant au moins une année jusqu'à ce que les bogues aient été établis du nouveau système par les fournisseurs de logiciel.


    * En octobre de 1999 $125 millions le vaisseau spatial de navette spatiale de climat de la NASA Mars était censé pour être perdu dans l'espace dû à une erreur de conversion de données simple. On l'a déterminé que le logiciel de vaisseau spatial a employé certaines données dans les unités anglaises qui devraient avoir été dans les unités métriques. Parmi autre charge, la navette spatiale était de servir un relais de communications pour la mission polaire de Mars Lander, qui a échoué pour des raisons inconnues en décembre 1999. Plusieurs panneaux de investigation ont été assemblés pour déterminer les échecs de processus qui ont permis à l'erreur de disparaître non détectée.


    * Les bogues dans le logiciel soutenant un grand réseau informatique à grande vitesse commercial ont affecté 70.000 clients d'affaires pendant 8 jours en août de 1999. Parmi ceux affectés était le système de télétransactions boursières du plus grand échange à terme des États-Unis, qui a été arrêté pour la majeure partie d'une semaine en raison des pannes.


    * Les rapports de nouvelles du janvier 1998 ont raconté des problèmes logiciels à une compagnie importante de télécommunications des États-Unis qui a eu comme conséquence aucuns frais pour des appels de fond pendant un mois pour 400.000 clients. Le problème a disparu non détecté jusqu'à ce que les clients aient appelé avec des questions au sujet de leurs factures.


    4.Why est-il souvent difficile que la gestion devienne-t-elle sérieux au sujet de la garantie de la qualité ?


    * La solution des problèmes est un processus de haut-visibilité ; l'empêchement des problèmes est bas-visibilité. Ceci est illustré par une vieille parabole : En Chine antique il y avait une famille des guérisseurs, un de qui a été connu dans toute la terre et a utilisé en tant que médecin à un grand seigneur.


    5.Why le logiciel a-t-il des bogues ?


    * Malentendu ou aucune communication - quant aux détails de quelle application devrait ou ne devrait pas faire (les conditions de l'application).


    * Complexité de logiciel - il peut être difficile comprendre la complexité des applications courantes de logiciel pour n'importe qui sans expérience du développement de logiciel de moderne-jour. les applications Multi-à gradins, le serveur de client et les applications réparties, les communications de données, les énormes bases de données relationnelles, et la taille fine des applications tous ont contribué à la croissance exponentielle de la complexité de logiciel/système.


    * Erreurs de programmation - les programmeurs, comme n'importe qui autrement, peuvent faire des erreurs.


    * Les conditions changeantes (si documenté ou non documenté) - l'utilisateur peuvent ne pas comprendre les effets des changements, ou peuvent les comprendre et demander de toute façon - la conception, la remise à plus tard des ingénieurs, effets sur d'autres projets, fonctionnent les besoins en matériel déjà réalisé qui peuvent devoir être refaits ou jetés dehors, qui peuvent être affectés, etc. S'il y a beaucoup de changements mineurs ou dépendances connues et inconnues des changements de commandant, parmi des parties du projet être susceptible d'agir l'un sur l'autre et de poser des problèmes, et la complexité des changements coordinating peut avoir comme conséquence les erreurs. L'enthousiasme du personnel de technologie peut être affecté. Dans quelques environnements à changement rapide d'affaires, les conditions sans interruption modifiées peuvent être un fait de la vie. Dans ce cas-ci, la gestion doit comprendre les risques résultants, et les ingénieurs de QA et de contrôle doivent s'adapter et plan pour que l'essai étendu continu garde les bogues inévitables de manquer de commande - à voir « ce qui peut être fait si les conditions changent sans interruption ? » dans la partie 2 du FAQ. Voir également les informations sur des approches « agiles » telles que XP, aussi dans la partie 2 du FAQ.


    * Pressions de Temps - l'établissement du programme des projets de logiciel est difficile au mieux, souvent exigeant beaucoup de conjecture. Quand les dates-limites apparaissent indistinctement et le craquement vient, des erreurs seront faites.


    * moi - les gens préfèrent dire des choses comme :


    * * « aucun problème »


    * * « morceau de gâteau »


    * * « je peux fouetter cela dehors en quelques heures »


    * * « il devrait être facile de mettre à jour ce vieux code »


    * au lieu de :


    * * « qui ajoute beaucoup de complexité et nous pourrions finir vers le haut de faire beaucoup des erreurs »


    * * « nous n'avons aucune idée si nous pouvons faire cela ; nous nous envolerons la »


    * * « je ne peux pas estimer combien de temps elle prendra, jusqu'à ce que je jette un coup d'oeil étroit à lui »


    * * « nous ne pouvons pas figurer dehors ce que ce vieux code de gaine en premier lieu »


    S'il y a trop peu réaliste de « aucun problème », le résultat est des bogues.


    * Code mal documenté - il est dur pour maintenir et modifier le code qui est mal écrit ou mal documenté ; le résultat est des bogues. Dans beaucoup d'organismes la gestion ne fournit aucune incitation pour des programmeurs pour documenter leur code ou pour écrire clairement, code compréhensible et maintenable. En fait, c'est habituellement l'opposé : ils obtiennent des points la plupart du temps pour s'avérer rapidement le code, et il y a sécurité d'emploi si personne autrement ne peut la comprendre (« s'il était difficile d'écrire, il devrait être difficile de lire »).


    * Les outils de développement de logiciel - outils visuels, bibliothèques de classe, compilateurs, outils scripting, etc. présentent souvent leurs propres bogues ou sont mal documentés, ayant pour résultat les bogues supplémentaires.


    6.How les nouveaux processus de QA de logiciel peuvent-ils être présentés dans une organisation existante ?


    * Dépend beaucoup de la taille de l'organisation et des risques impliqués. Pour de grands organismes avec (en termes de vies ou propriété) des projets à haut risque, la gestion sérieuse achètent est priée et un processus formalisé de QA est nécessaire.


    * Là où le risque est inférieur, la gestion et d'organisation achètent et l'exécution de QA peut être une plus lente, processus d'étape-à-un-temps. Des processus de QA devraient être équilibrés avec la productivité afin de garder la bureaucratie de sortir de la main.


    * Pour de petits groupes ou projets, un processus plus ad-hoc peut être approprié, selon le type des clients et de projets. Beaucoup dépendra des fils d'équipe ou des directeurs, rétroaction aux réalisateurs, et à assurer à communications proportionnées parmi des clients, des directeurs, des lotisseurs, et des essayeurs.


    * La plupart de valeur pour l'effort sera souvent dans (a) des processus de gestion de conditions, avec un but des caractéristiques de condition précises, complètes, testables incorporées dans les conditions ou la documentation de conception, ou dans « agile » - dactylographier à des environnements la coordination continue étendue avec des utilisateurs, (b) des inspections de conception et des inspections de code, et (c) post-mortems/retrospectives.


    7.What est vérification ? validation ?


    * La vérification implique typiquement des revues et des réunions pour évaluer des documents, des plans, le code, des conditions, et des caractéristiques. Ceci peut être fait avec des listes de contrôle, des listes de questions, des walkthroughs, et des réunions d'inspection. La validation comporte typiquement l'essai réel et a lieu après que des vérifications soient accomplies. Le terme « IV et V » se rapporte à la vérification et à la validation indépendantes.


    8.What est un « walkthrough » ?


    * Un « walkthrough » est une réunion informelle pour l'évaluation ou les buts informationnels. Peu ou pas de préparation est habituellement exigée.




    A D V E R T I S E M E N T

    discussionDiscussion Center
    Discuss
    Discuss

    Query

    Feedback
    Yahoo Groups
    Y! Group
    Sirfdosti Groups
    Sirfdosti
    Contact Us
    Contact
    Recommended Resources
    • Testing Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • Testing Tools Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • What is Software Testing?- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_testing
    • Software QA & Testing Resource Center- http://www.softwareqatest.com/
    • Testing Faqs- http://www.testingfaqs.org/
     

     

     

    A D V E R T I S E M E N T


    Réseau de Vyom : SMS libre, GRE, GMAT, MBA | examens en ligne | les travaux de Freshers | téléchargements de logiciel | programmant et codes sources | information de Delhi | les travaux, discussions | papiers de placement | eBooks libres | eBooks libres | information libre d'affaires | questions d'entrevue | cours d'instruction libres | arabe, français, Allemand | préparation d'IAS | plaisanteries, chansons, amusement | Classifieds libre | recettes libres | téléchargements libres | information de Bangalore | solutions de technologie | projet externalisant, accueil de Web | préparation de PORTE | préparation de MBA | information de SAP | essai de logiciel

    © 2006 de copyright. Refroidir l'entrevue .com. Tous droits réservés
    L'emplacement est maintenu par Vyom Technosoft Pvt. Ltd.

logo.gif

Forum| Contact Us| Testimonials| Sitemap| Employee Referrals| News| Articles| Feedback| Enquiry
 
Testing Resources
 
  • Testing Articles
  • Testing Books
  • Testing Certification
  • Testing FAQs
  • Testing Downloads
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Job Consultants
  • Testing News
  • Testing Training Institutes
  •  
    Fundamentals
     
  • Introduction
  • Designing Test Cases
  • Developing Test Cases
  • Writing Test Cases
  • Test Case Templates
  • Purpose
  • What Is a Good Test Case?
  • Test Specifications
  • UML
  • Scenario Testing
  • Test Script
  • Test Summary Report
  • Test Data
  • Defect Tracking
  •  
    Software testing
     
  • Testing Forum
  • Introduction
  • Testing Start Process
  • Testing Stop Process
  • Testing Strategy
  • Risk Analysis
  • Software Listings
  • Test Metrics
  • Release Life Cycle
  • Interoperability Testing
  • Extreme Programming
  • Cyclomatic Complexity
  • Equivalence Partitioning
  • Error Guessing
  • Boundary Value Analysis
  • Traceability Matrix
  •  
    SDLC Models
     
  • Introduction
  • Waterfall Model
  • Iterative Model
  • V-Model
  • Spiral Model
  • Big Bang Model
  • RAD Model
  • Prototyping Model
  •  
    Software Testing Types
     
  • Static Testing
  • Dynamic Testing
  • Blackbox Testing
  • Whitebox Testing
  • Unit Testing
  • Requirements Testing
  • Regression Testing
  • Error Handling Testing
  • Manual support Testing
  • Intersystem Testing
  • Control Testing
  • Parallel Testing
  • Volume Testing
  • Stress Testing
  • Performance Testing
  • Agile Testing
  • Localization Testing
  • Globalization Testing
  • Internationalization Testing
  •  
    Test Plan
     
  • Introduction
  • Test Plan Development
  • Test Plan Template
  • Regional Differences
  • Criticism
  • Hardware Development
  • IEEE 829-1998
  • Testing Without a TestPlan
  •  
    Code Coverage
     
  • Introduction
  • Measures
  • Working
  • Statement Coverage
  • Branch Coverage
  • Path Coverage
  • Coverage criteria
  • Code coverage in practice
  • Tools
  • Features
  •  
    Quality Management
     
  • Introduction
  • Components
  • Capability Maturity Model
  • CMMI
  • Six Sigma
  •  
    Project Management
     
  • Introduction
  • PM Activities
  • Project Control Variables
  • PM Methodology
  • PM Phases
  • PM Templates
  • Agile PM
  •  
    Automated Testing Tools
     
  • Quick Test Professional
  • WinRunner
  • LoadRunner
  • Test Director
  • Silk Test
  • Test Partner
  • Rational Robot
  •  
    Performance Testing Tools
     
  • Apache JMeter
  • Rational Performance Tester
  • LoadRunner
  • NeoLoad
  • WAPT
  • WebLOAD
  • Loadster
  • OpenSTA
  • LoadUI
  • Appvance
  • Loadstorm
  • LoadImpact
  • QEngine
  • Httperf
  • CloudTest
  •  
    Languages
     
  • Perl Testing
  • Python Testing
  • JUnit Testing
  • Unix Shell Scripting
  •  
    Automation Framework
     
  • Introduction
  • Keyword-driven Testing
  • Data-driven Testing
  •  
    Configuration Management
     
  • History
  • What is CM?
  • Meaning of CM
  • Graphically Representation
  • Traditional CM
  • CM Activities
  • Tools
  •  
    Articles
     
  • What Is Software Testing?
  • Effective Defect Reports
  • Software Security
  • Tracking Defects
  • Bug Report
  • Web Testing
  • Exploratory Testing
  • Good Test Case
  • Write a Test
  • Code Coverage
  • WinRunner vs. QuickTest
  • Web Testing Tools
  • Automated Testing
  • Testing Estimation Process
  • Quality Assurance
  • The Interview Guide
  • Upgrade Path Testing
  • Priority and Severity of Bug
  • Three Questions About Bug
  •    
     

    General Testing Interview Questions


    A D V E R T I S E M E N T




    1.What is 'Software Quality Assurance'?

    Software QA involves the entire software development Process - monitoring and improving the process, making sure that any agreed-upon standards and procedures are followed, and ensuring that problems are found and dealt with.

    It is oriented to 'prevention'. (See the Books section for a list of useful books on Software Quality Assurance.)



    2.What is 'Software Testing'?

    Testing involves operation of a system or application under controlled conditions and evaluating the results (eg, 'if the user is in interface A of the application while using hardware B, and does C, then D should happen'). The controlled conditions should include both normal and abnormal conditions. Testing should intentionally attempt to make things go wrong to determine if things happen when they shouldn't or things don't happen when they should. It is oriented to 'detection'.

    Organizations vary considerably in how they assign responsibility for QA and testing. Sometimes they're the combined responsibility of one group or individual. Also common are project teams that include a mix of testers and developers who work closely together, with overall QA processes monitored by project managers. It will depend on what best fits an organization's size and business structure.



    3. What are some recent major computer system failures caused      by software bugs?

    * Media reports in January of 2005 detailed severe problems with a $170 million high-profile U.S. government IT systems project. Software testing was one of the five major problem areas according to a report of the commission reviewing the project. Studies were under way to determine which, if any, portions of the project could be salvaged.

    * In July 2004 newspapers reported that a new government welfare management system in Canada costing several hundred million dollars was unable to handle a simple benefits rate increase after being put into live operation. Reportedly the original contract allowed for only 6 weeks of acceptance testing and the system was never tested for its ability to handle a rate increase.

    * Millions of bank accounts were impacted by errors due to installation of inadequately tested software code in the transaction processing system of a major North American bank, according to mid-2004 news reports. Articles about the incident stated that it took two weeks to fix all the resulting errors, that additional problems resulted when the incident drew a large number of e-mail phishing attacks against the bank's customers, and that the total cost of the incident could exceed $100 million.

    * A bug in site management software utilized by companies with a significant percentage of worldwide web traffic was reported in May of 2004. The bug resulted in performance problems for many of the sites simultaneously and required disabling of the software until the bug was fixed.

    * According to news reports in April of 2004, a software bug was determined to be a major contributor to the 2003 Northeast blackout, the worst power system failure in North American history. The failure involved loss of electrical power to 50 million customers, forced shutdown of 100 power plants, and economic losses estimated at $6 billion. The bug was reportedly in one utility company's vendor-supplied power monitoring and management system, which was unable to correctly handle and report on an unusual confluence of initially localized events. The error was found and corrected after examining millions of lines of code.

    * In early 2004, news reports revealed the intentional use of a software bug as a counter-espionage tool. According to the report, in the early 1980's one nation surreptitiously allowed a hostile nation's espionage service to steal a version of sophisticated industrial software that had intentionally-added flaws. This eventually resulted in major industrial disruption in the country that used the stolen flawed software.

    * A major U.S. retailer was reportedly hit with a large government fine in October of 2003 due to web site errors that enabled customers to view one anothers' online orders.

    * News stories in the fall of 2003 stated that a manufacturing company recalled all their transportation products in order to fix a software problem causing instability in certain circumstances. The company found and reported the bug itself and initiated the recall procedure in which a software upgrade fixed the problems.

    * In January of 2001 newspapers reported that a major European railroad was hit by the aftereffects of the Y2K bug. The company found that many of their newer trains would not run due to their inability to recognize the date '31/12/2000'; the trains were started by altering the control system's date settings.

    * News reports in September of 2000 told of a software vendor settling a lawsuit with a large mortgage lender; the vendor had reportedly delivered an online mortgage processing system that did not meet specifications, was delivered late, and didn't work.

    * In early 2000, major problems were reported with a new computer system in a large suburban U.S. public school district with 100,000+ students; problems included 10,000 erroneous report cards and students left stranded by failed class registration systems; the district's CIO was fired. The school district decided to reinstate it's original 25-year old system for at least a year until the bugs were worked out of the new system by the software vendors.


    * In October of 1999 the $125 million NASA Mars Climate Orbiter spacecraft was believed to be lost in space due to a simple data conversion error. It was determined that spacecraft software used certain data in English units that should have been in metric units. Among other tasks, the orbiter was to serve as a communications relay for the Mars Polar Lander mission, which failed for unknown reasons in December 1999. Several investigating panels were convened to determine the process failures that allowed the error to go undetected.

    * Bugs in software supporting a large commercial high-speed data network affected 70,000 business customers over a period of 8 days in August of 1999. Among those affected was the electronic trading system of the largest U.S. futures exchange, which was shut down for most of a week as a result of the outages.

    * January 1998 news reports told of software problems at a major U.S. telecommunications company that resulted in no charges for long distance calls for a month for 400,000 customers. The problem went undetected until customers called up with questions about their bills.



    4.Why is it often hard for management to get serious about quality assurance?

    * Solving problems is a high-visibility process; preventing problems is low-visibility. This is illustrated by an old parable: In ancient China there was a family of healers, one of whom was known throughout the land and employed as a physician to a great lord.

    5.Why does software have bugs?

    * Miscommunication or no communication - as to specifics of what an application should or shouldn't do (the application's requirements).

    * Software complexity - the complexity of current software applications can be difficult to comprehend for anyone without experience in modern-day software development. Multi-tiered applications, client-server and distributed applications, data communications, enormous relational databases, and sheer size of applications have all contributed to the exponential growth in software/system complexity.

    * Programming errors - programmers, like anyone else, can make mistakes.

    * Changing requirements (whether documented or undocumented) - the end-user may not understand the effects of changes, or may understand and request them anyway - redesign, rescheduling of engineers, effects on other projects, work already completed that may have to be redone or thrown out, hardware requirements that may be affected, etc. If there are many minor changes or any major changes, known and unknown dependencies among parts of the project are likely to interact and cause problems, and the complexity of coordinating changes may result in errors. Enthusiasm of engineering staff may be affected. In some fast-changing business environments, continuously modified requirements may be a fact of life. In this case, management must understand the resulting risks, and QA and test engineers must adapt and plan for continuous extensive testing to keep the inevitable bugs from running out of control - see 'What can be done if requirements are changing continuously?' in Part 2 of the FAQ. Also see information about 'agile' approaches such as XP, also in Part 2 of the FAQ.

    * Time pressures - scheduling of software projects is difficult at best, often requiring a lot of guesswork. When deadlines loom and the crunch comes, mistakes will be made.

    * egos - people prefer to say things like:

    * * 'no problem'

    * * 'piece of cake'

    * * 'I can whip that out in a few hours'

    * * 'it should be easy to update that old code'

    * instead of:

    * * 'that adds a lot of complexity and we could end up making a lot of mistakes'

    * * 'we have no idea if we can do that; we'll wing it'

    * * 'I can't estimate how long it will take, until I take a close look at it'

    * * 'we can't figure out what that old spaghetti code did in the first place'

    If there are too many unrealistic 'no problem's', the result is bugs.

    * Poorly documented code - it's tough to maintain and modify code that is badly written or poorly documented; the result is bugs. In many organizations management provides no incentive for programmers to document their code or write clear, understandable, maintainable code. In fact, it's usually the opposite: they get points mostly for quickly turning out code, and there's job security if nobody else can understand it ('if it was hard to write, it should be hard to read').

    * Software development tools - visual tools, class libraries, compilers, scripting tools, etc. often introduce their own bugs or are poorly documented, resulting in added bugs.



    6.How can new Software QA processes be introduced in an existing organization?

    * A lot depends on the size of the organization and the risks involved. For large organizations with high-risk (in terms of lives or property) projects, serious management buy-in is required and a formalized QA process is necessary.

    * Where the risk is lower, management and organizational buy-in and QA implementation may be a slower, step-at-a-time process. QA processes should be balanced with productivity so as to keep bureaucracy from getting out of hand.

    * For small groups or projects, a more ad-hoc process may be appropriate, depending on the type of customers and projects. A lot will depend on team leads or managers, feedback to developers, and ensuring adequate communications among customers, managers, developers, and testers.

    * The most value for effort will often be in (a) requirements management processes, with a goal of clear, complete, testable requirement specifications embodied in requirements or design documentation, or in 'agile'-type environments extensive continuous coordination with end-users, (b) design inspections and code inspections, and (c) post-mortems/retrospectives.



    7.What is verification? validation?

    * Verification typically involves reviews and meetings to evaluate documents, plans, code, requirements, and specifications. This can be done with checklists, issues lists, walkthroughs, and inspection meetings. Validation typically involves actual testing and takes place after verifications are completed. The term 'IV & V' refers to Independent Verification and Validation.

    8.What is a 'walkthrough'?

    * A 'walkthrough' is an informal meeting for evaluation or informational purposes. Little or no preparation is usually required.



    Previous Next

    Looking for Software Testing eBooks and Interview Questions? Join now and get it FREE!
    discussionDiscussion Center
    Discuss
    Discuss

    Query

    Feedback
    Yahoo Groups
    Y! Group
    Sirfdosti Groups
    Sirfdosti
    Contact Us
    Contact
    Recommended Resources
    • Testing Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • Testing Tools Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • What is Software Testing?- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_testing
    • Software QA & Testing Resource Center- http://www.softwareqatest.com/
    • Testing Faqs- http://www.testingfaqs.org/
     
    A D V E R T I S E M E N T
       
       

    Members Login


    Email ID:
    Password:


    Forgot Password
    New User
       
       
    Testing Interview Questions
  • General Testing
  • Automation Testing
  • Manual Testing
  • Software Development Life Cycle
  • Software Testing Life Cycle
  • Testing Models
  • Automated Testing Tools
  • Silk Test
  • Win Runner
  •    
       
    Testing Highlights

  • Software Testing Ebooks
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Frequently Asked Questions
  • Testing News
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Companies
  • Testing Job Consultants
  • ISTQB Certification Questions
  •    
       
    Interview Questions

  • WinRunner
  • LoadRunner
  • SilkTest
  • TestDirector
  • General Testing Questions
  •    
       
    Resources

  • Testing Forum
  • Downloads
  • E-Books
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Tools Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • A-Z Knowledge
  •    
    Planning
    for
    Study ABROAD ?


    Study Abroad


    Vyom Network : Free SMS, GRE, GMAT, MBA | Online Exams | Freshers Jobs | Software Downloads | Programming & Source Codes | Free eBooks | Job Interview Questions | Free Tutorials | Jokes, Songs, Fun | Free Classifieds | Free Recipes | Bangalore Info | GATE Preparation | MBA Preparation | Free SAP Training
    Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions
    Sitemap | Sitemap (XML)
    Job Interview Questions | Placement Papers | SMS Jokes | C++ Interview Questions | C Interview Questions | Web Hosting
    German | French | Portugese | Italian