English | German | French | Portugese | Italian |
Sunday, November 19, 2017
 
Software-Prüfung
 
  • Einleitung
  • Prüfenanfangsprozeß
  • Prüfenendprozeß
  • Prüfenstrategie
  • Prüfung Plan
  • Gefahr Analyse
  • Software - prüfenlebenszyklus
  •  
    Software-prüfenarten
     
  • Statische Prüfung
  • Dynamische Prüfung
  • Blackbox Prüfung
  • Whitebox Prüfung.
  • Maßeinheit Prüfung.
  • Anforderungen Prüfung.
  • Rückbildung-Prüfung.
  • Fehlerbehandlung prüfend.
  • Manuelle Unterstützungsprüfung.
  • Intersystemprüfung.
  • Die Prüfung steuern.
  • Die Prüfung entsprechen.
  • Volumen-Prüfung.
  • Druck-Prüfung.
  • Leistungstest.
  •  
    Prüfenwerkzeuge
     
  • Gewinn-Läufer
  • Last Läufer
  • Direktor prüfen
  • Silk Test
  • Partner prüfen
  •  
    Frage interviewen
     
  • Läufer gewinnen
  • Läufer laden
  • Silk Test
  • Direktor prüfen
  • Allgemeine prüfenfrage
  •    
     

    Allgemeine prüfeninterview-Fragen


    A D V E R T I S E M E N T


    Home » de » interviw-question » General


    1.What ist „Software Qualitätssicherung“?
    Software QA bezieht den gesamten Software-Entwicklung Prozeß mit ein - den Prozeß überwachend und verbessernd, überprüfend, ob alle vereinbarten Standards und Verfahren gefolgt werden, und sicherstellend, daß Probleme gefunden und behandelt sind. Er wird „Verhinderung“ orientiert. (Den Buchabschnitt für eine Liste der nützlichen Bücher auf Software-Qualitätssicherung sehen.)



    2.What ist „die prüfende Software“?
    Die Prüfung bezieht Betrieb eines Systems oder der Anwendung unter kontrollierte Bedingungen und das Auswerten der Resultate mit ein (z.B., „, wenn der Benutzer in Schnittstelle A der Anwendung, beim Verwenden von Kleinteilen B und C ist tut, dann sollte D geschehen“). Die kontrollierten Bedingungen sollten die normalen und anormalen Bedingungen einschließen. Die Prüfung sollte absichtlich versuchen, Sachen falsch gehen zu lassen, festzustellen, wenn Sachen geschehen, wenn sie nicht sollten, oder Sachen nicht geschehen, wenn sie sollten. Sie wird „Abfragung“ orientiert.

    Organisationen schwanken beträchtlich in, wie sie Verantwortlichkeit für QA und die Prüfung zuweisen. Manchmal sind sie die kombinierte Verantwortlichkeit von einer Gruppe oder Einzelperson. Auch Common sind Projektmannschaften, die eine Mischung der Prüfvorrichtungen und der Entwickler, die nah zusammen arbeiten, wenn die gesamten QA Prozesse von den Projektmanagern überwacht sind einschließen. Es hängt die Größe ab von, einer welcher am besten Sitze Organisation und Geschäft Struktur. 3. Was werden etwas neue Hauptcomputersystemausfälle durch Software-Wanzen verursacht?

    * Mittel berichtet im Januar von 2005 genau schilderten strenge Probleme mit einer Hochprofil $170 Million USregierung ES Systeme Projekt. Die Software-Prüfung war einer der fünf Hauptschwierigkeitbereiche entsprechend einem Report der Kommission, die das Projekt wiederholt. Studien waren unterwegs, festzustellen, welches, wenn irgendwelche, vom Projekt könnte gerettet werden einteilt.

    * Im Juli 2004 Zeitungen berichteten, daß ein neues Regierung Wohlfahrt Managementsystem in Kanada, das mehrerees hundert Million Dollar kostet, nicht imstande war, eine einfache Nutzenrate Zunahme anzufassen, nachdem es in Phasenbetrieb gesetzt worden war. Angeblich wurde der ursprüngliche Vertrag, der nur 6 Wochen der Abnahmeprüfung und des Systems zugelassen wurde, nie auf seine Fähigkeit, eine Rate Zunahme anzufassen geprüft.

    * Millionen Bankkonten wurden durch die Störungen wegen der Installation von unzulänglich geprüft Software-codieren im Verarbeitungssystem der Verhandlung von einer nordamerikanischen hauptsächlichbank, entsprechend mid-2004 Nachrichtenreporten ausgewirkt. Artikel über das Ereignis gaben an, daß es zwei Wochen dauerte, um alle resultierenden Störungen zu regeln, daß zusätzliche Probleme resultierten, als das Ereignis viele E-mail phishing Angriffe gegen die Kunden der Bank zeichnete, und daß die Gesamtkosten des Ereignisses $100 Million übersteigen konnten.

    * Eine Wanze in der Aufstellungsortmanagement-Software, die von den Firmen mit einem bedeutenden Prozentsatz des World Wide Webverkehrs verwendet wurde, wurde im Mai von 2004 berichtet. Die Wanze ergab Leistung Probleme für viele der Aufstellungsorte gleichzeitig und erforderte die Sperrung der Software, bis die Wanze örtlich festgelegt war.

    * Entsprechend Nachrichtenreporten im April von 2004, wurde eine Software-Wanze festgestellt, um ein Hauptmitwirkendes zur 2003 Nordostverdunkelung, der schlechteste Energie Systemfehler zu sein in der nordamerikanischen Geschichte. Der Ausfall mit einbezogene Verlust der elektrischen Energie zu 50 Million Kunden, zu Zwangsabschaltung von 100 Kraftwerken und zu den ökonomischen Verlusten geschätzt bei $6 Milliarde. Die Wanze war angeblich in einem überwachung und Managementsystem Energie der Gebrauchsfirma Verkäufer-gelieferten, das nicht imstande war, über ein ungewöhnliches Zusammenströmen der zuerst beschränkten Fälle richtig anzufassen und zu berichten. Die Störung wurde gefunden und behoben, nachdem man Millionen Linien Code überprüft hatte.

    * Frühem 2004 deckten Nachrichtenreporte den absichtlichen Gebrauch von einer Software-Wanze als Spionageabwehrwerkzeug auf. Entsprechend dem Report in den frühen achtziger Jahren ließ eine Nation surreptitiously Spionageservice einer feindlichen Nation eine Version der hoch entwickelten industriellen Software stehlen, die Fehler absichtlich-hinzugefügt hatte. Dieses ergab schließlich industrielle hauptsächlichunterbrechung im Land, das die gestohlene defekte Software benutzte.

    * Ein Haupt-USeinzelhändler wurde angeblich mit einer großen Regierung Geldstrafe im Oktober von 2003 wegen der Web site Störungen geschlagen, die Kunden ermöglichten, die on-line-Aufträge einer anothers anzusehen.

    * Nachrichten Geschichten im Fall von 2003 gaben an, daß eine Produktionsgesellschaft alle ihre Transportprodukte zurückrief, um ein Software-Problem zu regeln, das Instabilität in bestimmten Umständen verursacht. Die Firma fand und berichtete über die Wanze selbst und leitet das Rückrufverfahren ein, in dem ein Software-Aufsteigen die Probleme regelte.

    * Im Januar von 2001 Zeitungen berichtete, daß eine europäische hauptsächlicheisenbahn durch die Nachwirkungen der Y2K Wanze geschlagen wurde. Die Firma fand, daß viele ihrer neueren Züge nicht wegen ihrer Unfähigkeit, das Datum „31/12/2000“ zu erkennen laufen lassen würden; die Züge wurden angestellt, indem man die Datumeinstellungen des Steuersystems änderte.

    * Nachrichtenreporte im September von 2000 erklärten von einem Software-Verkäufer, der einen Prozeß mit einem großen Hypothekengeldgeber vereinbart; der Verkäufer hatte angeblich ein on-line-Hypothek Verarbeitungssystem, das nicht Spezifikationen traf, wurde geliefert spät und arbeitete nicht geliefert.

    * In frühem 2000 wurden Hauptschwierigkeiten mit einem neuen Computersystem in einem großen Vorstadt-Bezirk der USallgemeinen Schule mit Kursteilnehmern 100.000+ berichtet; Probleme schlossen 10.000 fehlerhafte Reportkarten und -kursteilnehmer mit ein, die nach links durch verlassene Kategorie Ausrichtung Systeme angeschwemmt wurden; CIO des Bezirkes wurde abgefeuert. Der Schulebezirk entschied, es wiedereinzusetzen ist Vorlage 25 Jahr - altes System für mindestens ein Jahr, bis die Wanzen vom neuen System von den Software-Verkäufern ausgearbeitet wurden.

    * Im Oktober von 1999 wurde das $125 Million die NASA Mars KlimaOrbiterraumfahrzeug geglaubt, im Raum verloren zu werden wegen eines einfachen Datenkonversionsfehlers. Es wurde festgestellt, daß Raumfahrzeug-Software bestimmte Daten in den englischen Maßeinheiten verwendete, die in den metrischen Maßeinheiten gewesen sein sollten. Unter anderen Aufgaben war der Orbiter, zu dienen da ein Kommunikationen Relais für die Mars polare Lander Mission, die aus unbekannten Gründen im Dezember 1999 ausfiel. Einige nachforschende Verkleidungen wurden zusammengekommen, um die Prozeßausfälle festzustellen, die die Störung unentdeckt gehen ließen.

    * Wanzen in der Software, die ein großes kommerzielles Schnelldatennetz stützt, beeinflußten 70.000 Firmenkunden über eine Zeitdauer von 8 Tagen im August von 1999. Unter beeinflußten denen war das System elektronischen Handelns des größten USzukunftaustausches, der für die meisten einer Woche resultierend aus den Störungen geschlossen wurde.

    * Januar 1998 Nachrichtenreporte erklärten von den Software-Problemen bei einer Haupt-USnachrichtentechnikfirma, die keine Aufladungen für Ferngespräche für einen Monat für 400.000 Kunden ergab. Das Problem ging unentdeckt, bis Kunden mit Fragen über ihre Rechnungen aufriefen.

    4.Why ist es häufig hart für Management, über Qualitätssicherung ernst zu erhalten?

    * Probleme zu lösen ist ein Hochsicht Prozeß; Probleme zu verhindern ist Niedrigsicht. Dieses wird durch eine alte Parabel veranschaulicht: In altem China gab es eine Familie der Heiler, ein von, bekannt wem in dem Land und beschäftigte als Arzt zu einem großen Lord.

    5.Why hat Software Wanzen?

    * Mißverständnis oder keine Kommunikation - hinsichtlich der Besonderen, einer welcher Anwendung nicht tun sollte oder sollte (die Anforderungen der Anwendung).

    * Software-Kompliziertheit - die Kompliziertheit der gegenwärtigen Software-Anwendungen kann schwierig sein, für jedermann ohne Erfahrung in der Moderntag-Software-Entwicklung zu begreifen. Multi-tiered Anwendungen, Klientenserver und verteilte Anwendungen, Datenaustausch, enorme relationale Datenbasen und blosse Größe von Anwendungen haben alle zum exponentialen Wachstum in der Software-/Systemskompliziertheit beigetragen.

    * Programmierung Störungen - Programmierer, wie jedermann sonst, können Fehler machen.

    * Ändernde Anforderungen (ob dokumentiert oder undokumentiert) - der Endbenutzer können möglicherweise nicht die Effekte der änderungen verstehen oder können um sie irgendwie verstehen und bitten - Neukonstruktion, Neufestlegung der Ingenieure, Effekte auf andere Projekte, arbeiten bereits abgeschlossene, die heraus nochmals gemacht werden oder geworfen werden müssen können, Kleinteilanforderungen, die beeinflußt werden können, etc. Wenn es viele geringfügige änderungen oder irgendwelche Major änderungen gibt, bekannte und unbekannte Abhängigkeiten unter Teilen des Projektes wahrscheinlich sein aufeinander einzuwirken und Probleme zu verursachen, und die Kompliziertheit der coordinating änderungen kann Störungen ergeben. Begeisterung des Technikpersonals kann beeinflußt werden. In irgendeinem schnell-änderndem betrieblichem Umfeld können ununterbrochen geänderte Anforderungen eine Tatsache des Lebens sein. In diesem Fall muß Management die resultierenden Gefahren verstehen, und QA und Testingenieure müssen sich anpassen und Plan, damit die ununterbrochene umfangreiche Prüfung die unvermeidlichen Wanzen vom Laufen aus Steuerung heraus - sehen „hält, was getan werden kann, wenn Anforderungen ändern ununterbrochen?“ in Teil 2 des FAQ. Informationen über „bewegliche“ Annäherungen wie XP, auch in Teil 2 des FAQ auch sehen.

    * Zeit Druck - die Terminplanung der Software-Projekte ist bestenfalls schwierig und häufig erfordert eine Menge guesswork. Wenn Stichtage auftauchen und das Knirschen kommt, werden Fehler gemacht.

    * Egos - Leute ziehen es vor, Sachen wie zu sagen:

    * * „kein Problem“

    * * „Stück des Kuchens“

    * * „ich kann den heraus in einigen Stunden peitschen“

    * * „es sollte einfach sein, diesen alten Code zu aktualisieren“

    * anstelle von:

    * * „, die eine Menge Kompliziertheit addiert und wir könnten herauf das Bilden von Menge von Fehlern fertigwerden“

    * * „wir haben keine Idee, wenn wir das tun können; wir wing sie“

    * * „ich kann nicht schätzen, wie lang sie nimmt, bis ich genau betrachte es“

    * * „wir können nicht heraus darstellen, was dieser alte Isolationsschlauchcode an erster Stelle“

    Wenn es zu vielen „keines Problems“ unrealistisch gibt, ist das Resultat Wanzen.

    * Schlecht dokumentierter Code - er ist haltbar, Code beizubehalten und zu ändern, der schlecht geschrieben wird oder schlecht dokumentiert; das Resultat ist Wanzen. In vielen Organisationen stellt Management keinen Anreiz für Programmierer zur Verfügung, um ihren Code zu dokumentieren oder klar zu schreiben, verständlicher, haltbarer Code. Tatsächlich ist es normalerweise das Entgegengesetzte: sie erhalten Punkte meistens für Code schnell ausfallen, und es gibt Arbeitsplatzsicherheit, wenn niemand sie verstehen kann sonst („, wenn zu schreiben war hart, zu lesen sollte hart sein“).



    * Software-Entwicklungswerkzeuge - Sichtwerkzeuge, Kategorie Bibliotheken, Compiler, scripting Werkzeuge, etc. stellen häufig ihre eigenen Wanzen vor oder werden schlecht, mit dem Ergebnis der addierten Wanzen dokumentiert.

    6.How können neue Software QA Prozesse in einer vorhandenen Organisation eingeführt werden?

    * Hängt viel von der Größe der Organisation und der Gefahren ab, die betroffen sind. Für große Organisationen mit risikoreichen (in den Leben oder Eigenschaft ausgedrückt) Projekten, kaufen ernstes Management wird angefordert ein und ein formalisierter QA Prozeß ist notwendig.

    * Wo die Gefahr niedriger ist, kaufen Management und organisatorische ein und QA Implementierung kann, Schritt-an-einzeit Prozeß ein langsameres sein. QA Prozesse sollten mit Produktivität ausgeglichen werden, um Bürokratie vom Verlassen eine Hand zu halten.

    * Für kleine Gruppen oder Projekte kann ein aderer hoc Prozeß, abhängig von der Art der Kunden und der Projekte angebracht sein. Viel hängt von den Mannschaftleitungen oder von den Managern, Rückgespräch zu den Entwicklern und zum Sicherstellen der ausreichenden Kommunikationen unter Kunden, Managern, Entwicklern und Prüfvorrichtungen ab.

    * Der meiste Wert für Bemühung ist häufig (a) in den Anforderungen Managementprozessen, mit einem Ziel der freien, kompletten, prüfbar Anforderung Spezifikationen, die in den Anforderungen oder in den Designunterlagen oder in „beweglichem“ dargestellt werden - Klimas umfangreiche ununterbrochene Korrdination mit Endbenutzern schreiben, (b) Designkontrollen und Codekontrollen und (c) post-mortems/retrospectives.

    7.What ist überprüfung? Gültigkeitserklärung?

    * Überprüfung bezieht gewöhnlich Berichte und Sitzungen mit ein, um Dokumente, Pläne, Code, Anforderungen und Spezifikationen auszuwerten. Dieses kann mit Checklisten getan werden, gibt Listen, walkthroughs und Kontrolle Sitzungen heraus. Gültigkeitserklärung bezieht gewöhnlich die tatsächliche Prüfung mit ein und findet statt, nachdem überprüfungen durchgeführt sind. Die Bezeichnung „IV u. V“ bezieht sich unabhängige überprüfung und auf Gültigkeitserklärung.

    8.What ist ein „walkthrough“?

    * Ein „walkthrough“ ist eine formlose Sitzung für Auswertung oder informierende Zwecke. Wenig oder keine Vorbereitung wird normalerweise angefordert.




    Looking for Software Testing eBooks and Interview Questions? Join now and get it FREE!
    discussionDiscussion Center
    Discuss
    Discuss

    Query

    Feedback
    Yahoo Groups
    Y! Group
    Sirfdosti Groups
    Sirfdosti
    Contact Us
    Contact
    Recommended Resources
    • Testing Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • Testing Tools Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • What is Software Testing?- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_testing
    • Software QA & Testing Resource Center- http://www.softwareqatest.com/
    • Testing Faqs- http://www.testingfaqs.org/
     
    A D V E R T I S E M E N T
       
       

    Members Login


    Email ID:
    Password:


    Forgot Password
    New User
       
       
    Testing Interview Questions
  • General Testing
  • Automation Testing
  • Manual Testing
  • Software Development Life Cycle
  • Software Testing Life Cycle
  • Testing Models
  • Automated Testing Tools
  • Silk Test
  • Win Runner
  •    
       
    Testing Highlights

  • Software Testing Ebooks
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Frequently Asked Questions
  • Testing News
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Companies
  • Testing Job Consultants
  • ISTQB Certification Questions
  •    
       
    Interview Questions

  • WinRunner
  • LoadRunner
  • SilkTest
  • TestDirector
  • General Testing Questions
  •    
       
    Resources

  • Testing Forum
  • Downloads
  • E-Books
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Tools Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • A-Z Knowledge
  •    
    Planning
    for
    Study ABROAD ?


    Study Abroad


    Vyom Network : Free SMS, GRE, GMAT, MBA | Online Exams | Freshers Jobs | Software Downloads | Programming & Source Codes | Free eBooks | Job Interview Questions | Free Tutorials | Jokes, Songs, Fun | Free Classifieds | Free Recipes | Bangalore Info | GATE Preparation | MBA Preparation | Free SAP Training
    Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions
    Sitemap | Sitemap (XML)
    Job Interview Questions | Placement Papers | SMS Jokes | C++ Interview Questions | C Interview Questions | Web Hosting
    German | French | Portugese | Italian

logo.gif

Forum| Contact Us| Testimonials| Sitemap| Employee Referrals| News| Articles| Feedback| Enquiry
 
Testing Resources
 
  • Testing Articles
  • Testing Books
  • Testing Certification
  • Testing FAQs
  • Testing Downloads
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Job Consultants
  • Testing News
  • Testing Training Institutes
  •  
    Fundamentals
     
  • Introduction
  • Designing Test Cases
  • Developing Test Cases
  • Writing Test Cases
  • Test Case Templates
  • Purpose
  • What Is a Good Test Case?
  • Test Specifications
  • UML
  • Scenario Testing
  • Test Script
  • Test Summary Report
  • Test Data
  • Defect Tracking
  •  
    Software testing
     
  • Testing Forum
  • Introduction
  • Testing Start Process
  • Testing Stop Process
  • Testing Strategy
  • Risk Analysis
  • Software Listings
  • Test Metrics
  • Release Life Cycle
  • Interoperability Testing
  • Extreme Programming
  • Cyclomatic Complexity
  • Equivalence Partitioning
  • Error Guessing
  • Boundary Value Analysis
  • Traceability Matrix
  •  
    SDLC Models
     
  • Introduction
  • Waterfall Model
  • Iterative Model
  • V-Model
  • Spiral Model
  • Big Bang Model
  • RAD Model
  • Prototyping Model
  •  
    Software Testing Types
     
  • Static Testing
  • Dynamic Testing
  • Blackbox Testing
  • Whitebox Testing
  • Unit Testing
  • Requirements Testing
  • Regression Testing
  • Error Handling Testing
  • Manual support Testing
  • Intersystem Testing
  • Control Testing
  • Parallel Testing
  • Volume Testing
  • Stress Testing
  • Performance Testing
  • Agile Testing
  • Localization Testing
  • Globalization Testing
  • Internationalization Testing
  •  
    Test Plan
     
  • Introduction
  • Test Plan Development
  • Test Plan Template
  • Regional Differences
  • Criticism
  • Hardware Development
  • IEEE 829-1998
  • Testing Without a TestPlan
  •  
    Code Coverage
     
  • Introduction
  • Measures
  • Working
  • Statement Coverage
  • Branch Coverage
  • Path Coverage
  • Coverage criteria
  • Code coverage in practice
  • Tools
  • Features
  •  
    Quality Management
     
  • Introduction
  • Components
  • Capability Maturity Model
  • CMMI
  • Six Sigma
  •  
    Project Management
     
  • Introduction
  • PM Activities
  • Project Control Variables
  • PM Methodology
  • PM Phases
  • PM Templates
  • Agile PM
  •  
    Automated Testing Tools
     
  • Quick Test Professional
  • WinRunner
  • LoadRunner
  • Test Director
  • Silk Test
  • Test Partner
  • Rational Robot
  •  
    Performance Testing Tools
     
  • Apache JMeter
  • Rational Performance Tester
  • LoadRunner
  • NeoLoad
  • WAPT
  • WebLOAD
  • Loadster
  • OpenSTA
  • LoadUI
  • Appvance
  • Loadstorm
  • LoadImpact
  • QEngine
  • Httperf
  • CloudTest
  •  
    Languages
     
  • Perl Testing
  • Python Testing
  • JUnit Testing
  • Unix Shell Scripting
  •  
    Automation Framework
     
  • Introduction
  • Keyword-driven Testing
  • Data-driven Testing
  •  
    Configuration Management
     
  • History
  • What is CM?
  • Meaning of CM
  • Graphically Representation
  • Traditional CM
  • CM Activities
  • Tools
  •  
    Articles
     
  • What Is Software Testing?
  • Effective Defect Reports
  • Software Security
  • Tracking Defects
  • Bug Report
  • Web Testing
  • Exploratory Testing
  • Good Test Case
  • Write a Test
  • Code Coverage
  • WinRunner vs. QuickTest
  • Web Testing Tools
  • Automated Testing
  • Testing Estimation Process
  • Quality Assurance
  • The Interview Guide
  • Upgrade Path Testing
  • Priority and Severity of Bug
  • Three Questions About Bug
  •    
     

    General Testing Interview Questions


    A D V E R T I S E M E N T




    1.What is 'Software Quality Assurance'?

    Software QA involves the entire software development Process - monitoring and improving the process, making sure that any agreed-upon standards and procedures are followed, and ensuring that problems are found and dealt with.

    It is oriented to 'prevention'. (See the Books section for a list of useful books on Software Quality Assurance.)



    2.What is 'Software Testing'?

    Testing involves operation of a system or application under controlled conditions and evaluating the results (eg, 'if the user is in interface A of the application while using hardware B, and does C, then D should happen'). The controlled conditions should include both normal and abnormal conditions. Testing should intentionally attempt to make things go wrong to determine if things happen when they shouldn't or things don't happen when they should. It is oriented to 'detection'.

    Organizations vary considerably in how they assign responsibility for QA and testing. Sometimes they're the combined responsibility of one group or individual. Also common are project teams that include a mix of testers and developers who work closely together, with overall QA processes monitored by project managers. It will depend on what best fits an organization's size and business structure.



    3. What are some recent major computer system failures caused      by software bugs?

    * Media reports in January of 2005 detailed severe problems with a $170 million high-profile U.S. government IT systems project. Software testing was one of the five major problem areas according to a report of the commission reviewing the project. Studies were under way to determine which, if any, portions of the project could be salvaged.

    * In July 2004 newspapers reported that a new government welfare management system in Canada costing several hundred million dollars was unable to handle a simple benefits rate increase after being put into live operation. Reportedly the original contract allowed for only 6 weeks of acceptance testing and the system was never tested for its ability to handle a rate increase.

    * Millions of bank accounts were impacted by errors due to installation of inadequately tested software code in the transaction processing system of a major North American bank, according to mid-2004 news reports. Articles about the incident stated that it took two weeks to fix all the resulting errors, that additional problems resulted when the incident drew a large number of e-mail phishing attacks against the bank's customers, and that the total cost of the incident could exceed $100 million.

    * A bug in site management software utilized by companies with a significant percentage of worldwide web traffic was reported in May of 2004. The bug resulted in performance problems for many of the sites simultaneously and required disabling of the software until the bug was fixed.

    * According to news reports in April of 2004, a software bug was determined to be a major contributor to the 2003 Northeast blackout, the worst power system failure in North American history. The failure involved loss of electrical power to 50 million customers, forced shutdown of 100 power plants, and economic losses estimated at $6 billion. The bug was reportedly in one utility company's vendor-supplied power monitoring and management system, which was unable to correctly handle and report on an unusual confluence of initially localized events. The error was found and corrected after examining millions of lines of code.

    * In early 2004, news reports revealed the intentional use of a software bug as a counter-espionage tool. According to the report, in the early 1980's one nation surreptitiously allowed a hostile nation's espionage service to steal a version of sophisticated industrial software that had intentionally-added flaws. This eventually resulted in major industrial disruption in the country that used the stolen flawed software.

    * A major U.S. retailer was reportedly hit with a large government fine in October of 2003 due to web site errors that enabled customers to view one anothers' online orders.

    * News stories in the fall of 2003 stated that a manufacturing company recalled all their transportation products in order to fix a software problem causing instability in certain circumstances. The company found and reported the bug itself and initiated the recall procedure in which a software upgrade fixed the problems.

    * In January of 2001 newspapers reported that a major European railroad was hit by the aftereffects of the Y2K bug. The company found that many of their newer trains would not run due to their inability to recognize the date '31/12/2000'; the trains were started by altering the control system's date settings.

    * News reports in September of 2000 told of a software vendor settling a lawsuit with a large mortgage lender; the vendor had reportedly delivered an online mortgage processing system that did not meet specifications, was delivered late, and didn't work.

    * In early 2000, major problems were reported with a new computer system in a large suburban U.S. public school district with 100,000+ students; problems included 10,000 erroneous report cards and students left stranded by failed class registration systems; the district's CIO was fired. The school district decided to reinstate it's original 25-year old system for at least a year until the bugs were worked out of the new system by the software vendors.


    * In October of 1999 the $125 million NASA Mars Climate Orbiter spacecraft was believed to be lost in space due to a simple data conversion error. It was determined that spacecraft software used certain data in English units that should have been in metric units. Among other tasks, the orbiter was to serve as a communications relay for the Mars Polar Lander mission, which failed for unknown reasons in December 1999. Several investigating panels were convened to determine the process failures that allowed the error to go undetected.

    * Bugs in software supporting a large commercial high-speed data network affected 70,000 business customers over a period of 8 days in August of 1999. Among those affected was the electronic trading system of the largest U.S. futures exchange, which was shut down for most of a week as a result of the outages.

    * January 1998 news reports told of software problems at a major U.S. telecommunications company that resulted in no charges for long distance calls for a month for 400,000 customers. The problem went undetected until customers called up with questions about their bills.



    4.Why is it often hard for management to get serious about quality assurance?

    * Solving problems is a high-visibility process; preventing problems is low-visibility. This is illustrated by an old parable: In ancient China there was a family of healers, one of whom was known throughout the land and employed as a physician to a great lord.

    5.Why does software have bugs?

    * Miscommunication or no communication - as to specifics of what an application should or shouldn't do (the application's requirements).

    * Software complexity - the complexity of current software applications can be difficult to comprehend for anyone without experience in modern-day software development. Multi-tiered applications, client-server and distributed applications, data communications, enormous relational databases, and sheer size of applications have all contributed to the exponential growth in software/system complexity.

    * Programming errors - programmers, like anyone else, can make mistakes.

    * Changing requirements (whether documented or undocumented) - the end-user may not understand the effects of changes, or may understand and request them anyway - redesign, rescheduling of engineers, effects on other projects, work already completed that may have to be redone or thrown out, hardware requirements that may be affected, etc. If there are many minor changes or any major changes, known and unknown dependencies among parts of the project are likely to interact and cause problems, and the complexity of coordinating changes may result in errors. Enthusiasm of engineering staff may be affected. In some fast-changing business environments, continuously modified requirements may be a fact of life. In this case, management must understand the resulting risks, and QA and test engineers must adapt and plan for continuous extensive testing to keep the inevitable bugs from running out of control - see 'What can be done if requirements are changing continuously?' in Part 2 of the FAQ. Also see information about 'agile' approaches such as XP, also in Part 2 of the FAQ.

    * Time pressures - scheduling of software projects is difficult at best, often requiring a lot of guesswork. When deadlines loom and the crunch comes, mistakes will be made.

    * egos - people prefer to say things like:

    * * 'no problem'

    * * 'piece of cake'

    * * 'I can whip that out in a few hours'

    * * 'it should be easy to update that old code'

    * instead of:

    * * 'that adds a lot of complexity and we could end up making a lot of mistakes'

    * * 'we have no idea if we can do that; we'll wing it'

    * * 'I can't estimate how long it will take, until I take a close look at it'

    * * 'we can't figure out what that old spaghetti code did in the first place'

    If there are too many unrealistic 'no problem's', the result is bugs.

    * Poorly documented code - it's tough to maintain and modify code that is badly written or poorly documented; the result is bugs. In many organizations management provides no incentive for programmers to document their code or write clear, understandable, maintainable code. In fact, it's usually the opposite: they get points mostly for quickly turning out code, and there's job security if nobody else can understand it ('if it was hard to write, it should be hard to read').

    * Software development tools - visual tools, class libraries, compilers, scripting tools, etc. often introduce their own bugs or are poorly documented, resulting in added bugs.



    6.How can new Software QA processes be introduced in an existing organization?

    * A lot depends on the size of the organization and the risks involved. For large organizations with high-risk (in terms of lives or property) projects, serious management buy-in is required and a formalized QA process is necessary.

    * Where the risk is lower, management and organizational buy-in and QA implementation may be a slower, step-at-a-time process. QA processes should be balanced with productivity so as to keep bureaucracy from getting out of hand.

    * For small groups or projects, a more ad-hoc process may be appropriate, depending on the type of customers and projects. A lot will depend on team leads or managers, feedback to developers, and ensuring adequate communications among customers, managers, developers, and testers.

    * The most value for effort will often be in (a) requirements management processes, with a goal of clear, complete, testable requirement specifications embodied in requirements or design documentation, or in 'agile'-type environments extensive continuous coordination with end-users, (b) design inspections and code inspections, and (c) post-mortems/retrospectives.



    7.What is verification? validation?

    * Verification typically involves reviews and meetings to evaluate documents, plans, code, requirements, and specifications. This can be done with checklists, issues lists, walkthroughs, and inspection meetings. Validation typically involves actual testing and takes place after verifications are completed. The term 'IV & V' refers to Independent Verification and Validation.

    8.What is a 'walkthrough'?

    * A 'walkthrough' is an informal meeting for evaluation or informational purposes. Little or no preparation is usually required.



    Previous Next

    Looking for Software Testing eBooks and Interview Questions? Join now and get it FREE!
    discussionDiscussion Center
    Discuss
    Discuss

    Query

    Feedback
    Yahoo Groups
    Y! Group
    Sirfdosti Groups
    Sirfdosti
    Contact Us
    Contact
    Recommended Resources
    • Testing Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • Testing Tools Interview Questions - http://www.coolinterview.com/type.asp
    • What is Software Testing?- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_testing
    • Software QA & Testing Resource Center- http://www.softwareqatest.com/
    • Testing Faqs- http://www.testingfaqs.org/
     
    A D V E R T I S E M E N T
       
       

    Members Login


    Email ID:
    Password:


    Forgot Password
    New User
       
       
    Testing Interview Questions
  • General Testing
  • Automation Testing
  • Manual Testing
  • Software Development Life Cycle
  • Software Testing Life Cycle
  • Testing Models
  • Automated Testing Tools
  • Silk Test
  • Win Runner
  •    
       
    Testing Highlights

  • Software Testing Ebooks
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Frequently Asked Questions
  • Testing News
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Companies
  • Testing Job Consultants
  • ISTQB Certification Questions
  •    
       
    Interview Questions

  • WinRunner
  • LoadRunner
  • SilkTest
  • TestDirector
  • General Testing Questions
  •    
       
    Resources

  • Testing Forum
  • Downloads
  • E-Books
  • Testing Jobs
  • Testing Interview Questions
  • Testing Tools Questions
  • Testing Jobs
  • A-Z Knowledge
  •    
    Planning
    for
    Study ABROAD ?


    Study Abroad


    Vyom Network : Free SMS, GRE, GMAT, MBA | Online Exams | Freshers Jobs | Software Downloads | Programming & Source Codes | Free eBooks | Job Interview Questions | Free Tutorials | Jokes, Songs, Fun | Free Classifieds | Free Recipes | Bangalore Info | GATE Preparation | MBA Preparation | Free SAP Training
    Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions
    Sitemap | Sitemap (XML)
    Job Interview Questions | Placement Papers | SMS Jokes | C++ Interview Questions | C Interview Questions | Web Hosting
    German | French | Portugese | Italian